drawing from memory

I plan on starting a new line of development this month as I felt I was starting to lose focus with my last explorations and wanted to try something new.

The new element of my research I want to focus on is the process of drawing from memory. Although cave drawings are drawings of subject matter, they are not drawing from what is being presented in front of them but from what they can remember. I feel like this could be a really interesting path of research when looking on the relationship between the artist and the computer. This is what I feel I was starting to lose track of among my last work.

I plan on exploring how the computer itself draws from memory. At this stage I am not 100% sure how I am going to do that, however the first things that come to mind are the for loop in processing and motion tracking and how it is done.

Today I have looking at tracking and how I can make designs from it. As a starting point I filmed myself doing a random line sketch in my sketchbook and have imported the video into After Effects.

I have said the tracking point to the tip of my pen to leave a trail of points to work with, studying how the computer remembers the x and y values of the tracker. I plan to use a more specific video in the future but this is just as an experiment to see and learn how it works. I then put this information into an Excel document to record the tracked points.